Union Township, Hunterdon County, New Jersey

Union Township Committee

Meetings – 3rd Wednesday of Each Month except as noted-
 7:00 pm – Municipal Building

(L-R) Matt Severino, Bruce Hirt, Michele McBride, Bill Bischoff, Frank Mazza

Mayor Frank T. Mazza
Dep. Mayor Matt Severino
Committeewoman Michele McBride


Term Expires 2017
Term Expires 2015
Term Expires 2016

Committeeman William F. Bischoff, Jr.


Term Expires 2015

Committeeman Bruce Hirt


Term Expires 2017

Ask a question or send a comment to a Committee Member

Township Committee Agendas and Minutes

Committee Assignments for 2015:

Mayor Mazza

Planning Board, Department of Roads & Facilities, Parks, Rec Committee, Highlands, COAH, Vouchers

Deputy Mayor Severino

Recycling Center, NJ State Police Liaison, Animal Control Liaison, Vouchers

Committeewoman McBride School Board, Environmental Commission, Communications

Committeeman Bischoff

County and State Liaison, COAH, Court Liaison, Personnel

Committeeman Hirt

Municipal Buildings & Grounds, Farmland Preservation, Ag Advisory Committee, Planning Board, Highlands

The Township of Union governing body is a Committee form of government chartered by the State of New Jersey under NJSA 40A:63-1. The township form of government is the oldest form of municipal government in the State of New Jersey originating with the Township Act of 1798. This form of municipal government patterned after the New England Township meeting, was modified numerous times throughout the 19th century. At the end of the 19th century, the law was modified to abolish the township meeting and replace it with a township committee that was vested with all municipal powers.

Under the current township government laws as they apply to Union Township, five Committee members are elected at-large in partisan elections to serve staggered three-year terms. The Mayor is elected by the Committee and serves a one-year term as does the Deputy Mayor. The Mayor serves as the Chairperson of the Committee and exercises executive powers vested in the Mayor's Office by law. All legislative powers are assigned to the Committee. One hundred five municipalities of the five hundred sixty-six municipalities in New Jersey operate with a five member Committee form of local government.

Home | Privacy Statement |
Click here to go the the Union Township Home Page